For previous year’s winners, scroll down.

Nominations are now closed, as of 5pm Friday, November 16, 2018.

Winners will be announced in December 2018.

The John P. Collins Awards For Excellence honor the exemplary efforts of those whose work brings to life the mission of the Shrewsbury Public Schools: to provide students with the skills and knowledge for the 21st century, an appreciation of our democratic tradition and the desire to continue to learn throughout life. The awards are named for former Superintendent of the Shrewsbury Public Schools John P. Collins, who served in town from 1978 to 1994 and continues to exemplify the highest standards of professionalism and a dedication to lifelong learning in our community.

For questions, contact

Multiple awards will be given in the following categories:

  • Professional Educator (classroom teachers, special education teachers, subject specialist teachers, nurses, counselors, psychologists, therapists, instructional coaches, etc.)
  • Paraprofessional (classroom aides, special education aides, child-specific aides, ABA technicians, media aides, tutors, etc.)
  • Support Staff (secretaries, technology support, custodians, cafeteria workers, bus drivers, Extended School Care providers)
  • Leadership (principals, assistant principals, department directors, curriculum coordinators, district administrators or any staff member who has demonstrated excellent leadership)
  • Unsung Hero (volunteers, PTO, boosters, supporters, fans, helpers) — New category started last year

Who can be nominated?

Anyone who currently works or volunteers in the Shrewsbury Public Schools can be nominated. This includes any staff member or volunteer who you or your child either works with now or has worked with in the past.

Who can submit a nomination?

Just about everyone who’s been touched by the Shrewsbury Public Schools at any level to any degree, such as: Students, teachers, staff, parents, administrators and community members… any and all can nominate someone. All nominees receive a copy of the nomination letter and an appreciation note from SEF.

How will honorees be selected?

A committee of SEF volunteers, Shrewsbury Public Schools staff and community members will review nominations and select the honorees. They will consider how each nominee personifies the Shrewsbury Public Schools’ mission and core values; how the nominee has positively impacted students, the curriculum, fellow staff members, team building, or the school or district-wide community.

When will awards be presented?

Winners will be notified by the end of December. Awards will be publicly presented, along with those for our grant recipients and the Community Service Award, at the SEF Awards Dinner on Saturday, January 26, 2018 at Cyprian Keyes Golf Club.

How can I nominate someone?

Nominations are closed for the year.  Come back next year.

Thank you!


John P. Collins Awards for Excellence,


Patrick Collins — Assistant Superintendent for Finance and Operations, Shrewsbury Public Schools


Sarah Monica — Pre-K Teacher, Little Colonials Preschool
Kenneth Avery — Grade 2 Teacher, Floral Street School
Liz McGandy — ELL Teacher, Sherwood Middle School


Cindy Reid — ABA Technician, Parker Road Preschool
Lisa Pashou — ABA Technician and Student Voice Crew Leader, Sherwood Middle School


Travis Perron — Custodian, Oak Middle School

Unsung Hero

James Roche — Volunteer, Sherwood Middle School

John P. Collins Awards for Excellence,
2016 – 2017


Ann Jones — Principal, Oak Middle School


Elizabeth Camire — Special Education Teacher, Sherwood Middle School
Carolyn Jepsen — Music & Drama Teacher, Beal Early Childhood Center & Oak Middle School
Kathleen Scibelli — Science Teacher, Oak Middle School


Kevin O’Connor — Special Education Aide, Shrewsbury High School
Janet Pope — Media Aide, Sherwood Middle School


Judith Adair — Secretary, Spring Street School
Ken Gordon — Bus Driver, AA Transportation (Bus #9)

Previous year’s awards

John P. Collins Awards for Excellence,
2015 – 2016


Mary Beth Banios – Assistant Superintendent
Greg Nevader — Assistant Principal, Shrewsbury High School


Susan Conley – Elementary Instructional Coach, Coolidge Elementary School
Michael Lapomardo — Music Teacher, Shrewsbury High School
Brian Liporto — Music Teacher, Shrewsbury High School
Elin Dolen — Grade 7 Science Teacher, Oak Middle School


Ann Marie Lockwood — Instructional Aide, Oak Middle School
Cathy Shaw – Instructional Aide, Sherwood Middle School


Litza Rivera — Instructional Technology Support Specialist, Sherwood Middle School


John P. Collins Awards for Excellence,
2014 – 2015


Todd Bazydlo – Shrewsbury High School


Maura Egan – Oak Middle School
Brenda Filiere – Shrewsbury High School
Pamela Johnson – Shrewsbury High School
Kelly O’Connell – Sherwood Middle School


Andrea Collins – Oak Middle School
Lynn Skavis – Calvin Coolidge Elementary School


Theresa Collier – Shrewsbury High School
Pat Tighe – AA Transportation, Bus #53